Long Day, Late Post

Yesterday was a gong show. It was an organized gong show, or so I thought. Atlas’ six month shots were in the morning, along with his check up, and they went off without a hitch. He cried pitifully at the first needle, but the second he only sputtered and whimpered at. It only took a few minutes to calm him down afterward, and he was a champ for the rest of his doctor’s appointment. Which was fantastic, because I had overlooked the fact that he would likely be grumpy after his needle and had arranged his appointments so that the needle was first and the checkup second. Thankfully, he was very tough and recovered bravely so the check up was a breeze.

Of course, that afternoon proved to be a bit more of a challenge. One of his needles was the flu shot and it ended up throwing him for a loop. He got a slight fever and couldn’t fall asleep. I ended up napping with him for a couple of hours (the only way he would sleep), which of course upset my plans for the day.

That evening I had a hair appointment (this is my biggest news, hah!) and I guess poor hubby had a terrible time while I was away for a few hours. Brady finally managed to pry the top off of a stubborn bottle of formula and Atlas was more-or-less appeased by the time I got home. I did feel terrible, though. Especially since the poor guy was feeling so yucky. In the future I won’t be planning anything in the evening after baby’s flu shot. That is one lesson learned.

I never thought I would be one of those moms who found it so hard to be away from their baby, and for the most part I don’t. I don’t mind leaving him with people I trust, it doesn’t bother me in the slightest. But when I get home, oh, that’s when I feel it! I ran in the door and scooped him up and didn’t want to put him down. It’s like I don’t realize how much I miss him until I’m holding him again and can’t stop kissing his adorable face and snuggling his wonderful pudginess. Ah, motherhood!

My hair, though, that is a point of contention for me. I am always wanting to do something different and interesting with my hair, but my poor husband is a stickler for tradition. Bangs, no. Colour, no. Length change, no.  But, for some reason I cannot fathom, he decided to change his mind about the second over the Christmas season. We came home and I, for the hundredth time, mentioned chopping off my hair; there is so much of it, and it’s so long that it takes an eon to do. While, yes, it is simple enough to throw in a pony-tail now that I’m living in yoga pants and showering twice a week, it’s by no means an attractive pony tail. I think with a little length off even a style as simple as a pony could be spruced up a bit. But no, the only point consigned was colour. And while he seemed inclined to encourage me toward blond, I decided to go with red. Red is still a statement, but it’s not so very far from my usual poo-brown as blond. Blond is too far, I think. Baby steps, people.

At any rate I’ve gone from plain poo-brown (as I not-so-affectionately label my natural colour) to a vivid red with a coppery ombre.

Now, I must state that I am not 100% sold on this colour. It came out a bit more purple than I was planning. I like the way that it transitions into the lighter colour at the tip, however. I do think that when I get my roots touched up I’d like to add some highlights or lowlights or something to break up the vividness of the red.

before

after

What do you think? Love it? Hate it?

Leave a Reply

